Inspiring films – THE MASTER, a film by Paul Thomas Anderson

Every week my friend Stephen and I try to make it to the cinema at least once a week to see a new film. A few weeks ago a film we had been looking forward to seeing for months came out, that being the new film by director Paul Thomas Anderson who has directed films such as Boogie Nights, Magnolia and There Will Be Blood.

His newest film ‘The Master’ deals with a man (Joaquin Phoenix) trying to settle back into modern society after serving in the war as a Naval veteran. He soon joins a new order called The Cause run by the Master (Philip Seymour Hoffman).

This film was shot on 70mm film, the first film to have done this in over 20 years or so. The lighting throughout the whole story is beautiful and just made me really appreciate good composition and use of lighting which I hadn’t seen used to justice in a new film in a few years.

I think it is arguably my favourite film from 2012, so I thought it deserved a mention on the blog for my final year project. I recently spoke to some classmates about what they were putting on their blogs as I was a little worried cause I’m making a documentary film would it look odd if I placed a feature film (noting to do with a music documentary) up for inspiration. My friend laughed and called me an idiot saying “Man, it’s Art….so it is Inspiration!”.

That’s good enough for me.

Another great thing about the film is the soundtrack which was composed by Jonny Greenwood of Radiohead, the second collaboration between them (the first being There Will Be Blood).  The way he subtlety uses parts of the score throughout the movie is just perfection. It so good you almost don’t hear it come in sometimes, I think that’s when you know your in the presence of a really good director and editor. This is something I hope to be able to do in my final documentary as editing in music by the musicians will be a key part in understanding their music background and unique sound.

Here’s some of my favourite shots of the film. *(may contain spoilers)

Director: Paul Thomas Anderson

Director of Photography: Mihai Mălaimare, Jr.

Ocean from above

Making Drink

Making sand woman

Drink materials

Sleeping Boat

Photographer

Waiting for Reply

Post Processing

Lift shot

Closeup Peggy

Reading Boat

Digging Lancaster's books

Waiting for speech

The Cause in England

Riding in Desert

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

